2023 MSD COUNCIL



The Medical Society of Delaware's Council is comprised of the members of the MSD Executive Board, representatives of the three Sections of MSD, representatives of the eight geographic affinity groups, recognized medical specialty societies in Delaware, the Delaware State Osteopathic Medical Society, representation by hospital medical staffs, and a corporate/government employed (non-hospital) physician representative.

This format of representation provides the highest level of opportunity for physician-driven engagement within MSD. MSD encourages its members to not only communicate with its leadership, but also within the subgroups which represent them on the Council.

	COUNCIL POSITION	NAME	TERM
OFFICERS	President	Robert J. Varipapa, MD	2023
	President-Elect	Bhavin R. Dave, MD	2023
	Vice President	Brian J. Galinat, MD, MBA	2023
	Secretary	James Monihan, MD	2023
	Treasurer	Shalini B. Shah, MD	2023
	Speaker	Stephanie Guarino, MD	2023
	Immediate Past President	Matthew J. Burday, DO	2023
	AMA Delegate	Janice Tildon-Burton, MD	2022-2023
SECTIONS	Resident/Fellow Section	VACANT	2022-2023
	Representative		
	Young Physician Section Rep	Anthony Tramontozzi, DO	2023-2024
	Physicians Emeritus Section Rep	John Chabalko, MD	2022-2023
AT-LARGE	New Castle County At-Large Rep	James M. Gill, MD	2023-2024
	New Castle County At-Large Rep	Michael T. Vest, MD	2022-2023
	Kent County At-Large Representative	Cedric T. Barnes, DO	2023-2024
	Sussex County At-Large Rep	William Chasanov, DO	2022-2023
	Government Affairs Committee	Steven Chmielewski, MD	2023-2024
	Third Party Payer Committee	Nicholas Biasotto, DO	2023-2024
	Holding Company Board Rep	Joseph Straight, MD	2023
	Anesthesiology Representative	Manish Purohit, MD	2022-2023
	Cardiology Representative	Vinay Hosmane	2022-2023
	Dermatology Representative	Helen Mashek, MD	2022-2023
	Family Medicine Representative	Hugh Bonner, MD	2022-2023
	Internal Medicine Representative	John H. O'Neill, DO	2023-2024
	Obstetrics/Gynecology Representative	Lindsey M. Davis, MD	2022-2023
SPECIALTY	Ophthalmology Representative	Paula C. Ko, MD	2022-2023
SOCIETIES	Otolaryngology Representative	Paul M. Imber, DO	2022-2023
	Pediatrics Representative	Vibha Sanwal, MD	2022-2023
	Psychiatry Representative	James M. Ellison, MD	2022-2023
	Urology Representative	Michael Zaragoza, MD	2023-2024
GEOGRAPHIC AFFINITY GROUPS	Wilmington Geo Affinity Group Rep	Nancy Fan, MD	2023-2024
	Hockessin/Pike Creek Geo Grp Rep	Donald Archer, MD	2022-2023
	Christiana Geo Affinity Group Rep	Randeep S. Kahlon, MD	2023-2024

HOSPITAL MEDICAL STAFF	Bayhealth Kent Hospital Med Staff Rep	Brintha F. Vasagar, MD	2022-2023
	ChristianaCare Hospital Med Staff Rep	Gilbert Leidig, MD	2022-2023
	ChristianaCare Hospital Med Staff Rep	Jeffry Zern, MD	2022-2023
	Saint Francis Healthcare Med Staff Rep	Mary McCrossan, MD	2021-2022
	TidalHealth Nanticoke Hosp Med Staff Rep	Jona D. Gorra, MD	2023-2024
	TidalHealth Nanticoke Hosp Med Staff Rep	Joseph H. Kim, DO	2023-2024
	Osteopathic Medical Society Rep	Edward Sobel, DO	2022-2023
	Delaware Chapter, National Medical Association	Drew Brady, MD	2023-2024
	Corporate/Government Employed (non-hospital) Representative	Avani K. Virani, MD	2023-2024

As of April 7, 2023