Skip to main content
Who We Are
Foundation for Medical Services
Medical Education Foundation
What We Do
Legislative / Regulatory
Opioid Abuse / Prescribing
Delaware Medical Journal
Assoc Management Services
Compliance Training and Certification Courses
Call for Resolutions
Delaware Law Affecting Your Practice
Requirements to Maintain Medical Licenses and Certifications in Delaware
Physician M.D., Physician D.O., Physician Assistant, Acupuncture Practitioner, and Genetic Counselor licenses expire on March 31 of odd-numbered years (2017, 2019, etc.).
Physicians must have completed 40 hours of accredited Continuing Medical Education during each licensing period.
Physicians are required to attest that they have completed a
mandatory training offered by the state of Delaware
on how to recognize child sexual and physical abuse and exploitation, domestic violence, and physician's reporting obligations under the Medical Practice Act during each 2-year licensing period.
Controlled Substance Registration
Uniform Controlled Substances Act Regulations
One Hour of Delaware-Specific Education
one hour of Delaware-specific education
pertaining to the prescribing and distribution of controlled substances prior to June 30, 2015. Content for the education must be approved by the State.
This is a one-time requirement needed only for the 2015 renewal.
New prescribers applying for Controlled Substance Registrations after June 30, 2015 must complete the one-hour Delaware-specific training prior to obtaining a Delaware CSR
Two Hours of Non-Delaware -Specific Education
CSR holders must complete an additional two hours of non-Delaware-specific education
starting with the renewal period July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2017, and biennially thereafter
. Required education must be completed within the corresponding renewal period.
Education should be in the areas of controlled substance prescribing practices, treatment of chronic pain, other topics related to the prescribing of controlled substances.
Education Offerings for non-Delaware-specific education
Prescription Monitoring Program
All practitioners who hold an active Delaware Controlled Substance Registration are required to register for access to the
Delaware Prescription Monitoring Program
CERTIFIED MEDICAL EXAMINERS
Effective May 21, 2014,
all interstate Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) drivers seeking or wanting to maintain a valid medical examiner's certificate (ME Certificate) for a Commercial Drivers License (CDL) must use a Medical Examiner (ME) listed on the
US Department of Transportation Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners
(National Registry) for the required examination.
Certified Medical Examiners must complete
training concerning FMCSA’s physical qualification standards
pass a test to verify an understanding of those standards
. Certification must be repeated every 10 years.
WORKERS' COMPENSATION CERTIFIED HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS
To be certified in the Delaware Workers' Compensation Health Care Payment System, professionals need to complete a
Continuing Education course
. Professionals are required to repeat the course prior before the end of each two-year cycle tied to the time of professional license renewal.
FACILITIES THAT PERFORM INVASIVE MEDICAL PROCEDURES
The regulations for Facilities That Perform Invasive Medical Procedures were published in the February 1, 2014 Register of Regulations and became effective on February 11, 2014.
All facilities that perform invasive medical procedures in which the accepted standard of care requires anesthesia, major conduction anesthesia or sedation as defined in the regulations, including all facilities that perform surgical abortions, must comply with the Facilities That Perform Invasive Medical Procedures regulations.
Facilities that perform procedures in which the procedure itself meets the regulatory definition of anesthesia (i.e. pain management procedure such as spinals, epidurals, etc.) are required to comply with the Facilities That Perform Invasive Medical Procedures regulations.
State law mandates that Facilities That Perform Invasive Medical Procedures register and submit proof of the facility’s accreditation by an approved accrediting body, to the Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) within 12 months of the first day of operation of such facility.
The registration form and list of approved accreditation organizations can be found at:
DE LAWS AFFECTING YOUR PRACTICE
Regulation 18 on the use of controlled substances in the treatment of pain
by the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline (BMLD) has been published December 1, 2012 with an effective date of December 11, 2012.
(To see the actual amended language, click the link above and scroll down to Reg 31). See also
Guidelines for use of Controlled Substances for the Treatment of Pain
Link to List of Delaware-Approved Tamper-Resistant Prescription Pad Vendors
Summary of Changes to Delaware Law concerning Physicians’ Duties and Policies and Procedures of the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline enacted by the 145th General Assembly
Chaperone Law: Notice to Patients under the age of 16 years old <>
NEW - Delaware Mandates Sexual Harassment Training 2019
Delaware Sexual Harassment Notice
TITLE 24, CHAPTER 17. MEDICAL PRACTICE ACT
Subchapter I. General Provisions
Subchapter II. The Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline
Subchapter III. Certificate to Practice Medicine; Registration of Certificate; Renewal of Registration
Subchapter IV. Disciplinary Regulation; Proceedings of the Board
Subchapter V. Miscellaneous Provisions
Subchapter VI. Physician Assistants
Subchapter VII. Respiratory Care Practitioners
Subchapter VIII. Parental Notice of Abortion Act
Subchapter IX. Termination of Human Pregnancy
Subchapter X. Acupuncture Practitioners
Subchapter XI. Genetic Counselors
Compliance Training and Certification Courses